Airtel vs TNM

Telecommunications in Malawi is very different to what I’m used to in UK and also Hong Kong.

After 2 weeks here, I think I’ve finally made some sense of how it works…

There are 2 main operators: Airtel and TNM.

Hardly anybody goes on subscription contracts, which is the norm in UK and HK. Instead, it’s all pay-as-you-go (PAYG). Though strangely, they do actively market BlackBerrys on contract. So you’ll find top-up vouchers being sold by the ubiquitous men in red Airtel or green TNM jackets, usually at a coordinated, equally brightly coloured table and sombrero.

As a group of new “azungu”s (foreigner/white person), 2 things my group of VSO volunteers wanted and enquired about upon arrival, was a mobile phone sim card and a USB dongle to connect our laptops to the Internet. Both of which, will be Airtel or TNM of course.

Cross network calls are expensive. So the locals usually carry 2 phones. 1 on each network: numbers beginning 099 for Airtel, 088 for TNM. The relatively well-off office workers also carry 2 dongles. Apparently Airtel is better for overall geographical coverage (and marketing) but TNM is faster in cities. Confused.com!

Anyway, all of our group went for Airtel but bought our sim cards at a couple of different places, which was a blessing in disguise because: A. The sim cards aren’t sold at a set price (albeit, it was cheap – MWK 250) B. We didn’t all have sequential phone numbers!

P.S. On Saturday, my house-mate and I were doing some food shopping in ShopRite, which is one of the main supermarkets in Lilongwe city centre (Old Town). For those in the UK, ShopRite is basically Asda but more chaotic. We were in the drinks aisle when there was a power cut and we descended into total darkness! That was a first for me. For a second, I thought I was in an episode of The Walking Dead!

Categories: Malawi, Technology, Volunteering, VSO | Tags: , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Airtel vs TNM

  1. So, in your neighbouring country of Zambia its comparable – MTN v’s airtel…. and most people do have 2 phones.
    And yes, I shop in ShopRite – literally, everything you need under one roof!

    Like

  2. Undeniably consider that which you stated. Your
    favourite justification seemed to be at the net
    the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while
    folks think about worries that they just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the highest and outlined out the entire thing with no need side effect , folks can take a signal. Will probably be again to get more. Thanks

    Like

  3. Like I’ve always said, simple in theory, hard in practice. Good information though and I genuinely hope there will be more. I will be sure to return later.

    Like

  4. Alright, so precisely what the bejesus are these numbers I’ve got to keep keying in to create a comment? I’m honestly getting irritated.

    Each time I check out a new web page and want to
    post something, I have to key in some brainless numbers or words.
    I cannot believe I entered it in just to whine about entering it in,
    but nonetheless… it makes me irritated.

    Like

  5. Why doesn’t this website work in Chrome? I needed to change to firefox to read the content. Not a huge deal, but inconvenient for somebody that loathes using firefox. I wouldn’t care, however I genuinely wanted to find out more.

    Like

  6. Pingback: A to Z: A is for… | Herman is Out of the Office

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

