“Ho ho ho. Now I have a machine gun.”

Merry Christmas everyone!

I am currently on vacation in Tanzania and having a few too many misadventures since leaving Lilongwe last Tuesday. I will post about those experiences when I return to Malawi. Along with some pictures of Tanzania.

The normal UK sleet and snow has been replaced by a beaming sun very hot sand beneath my feet. As I lounge on the beaches of Zanzibar, (very slowly) reading Daniel Defoe’s classic novel, Robinson Crusoe, Christmas seems like a very strange concept.

Fear not though. Where there are mzungus, there is Christmas! As we had dinner last night at Mustapha’s Place, we had a selection of the best crimbo music. The Pogues, Mariah Carey, Slade but alas, no Wham… yet! This morning, my friends here (volunteers and expats from Zambia) opened their various presents and cards over breakfast. There is great fun spirit with our group. Now all we need are the two best Christmas films ever. Home Alone and Die Hard! Hence the post title.

The picturesque views of Zanzibar is truly stunning. However, I find myself missing Malawi and most of all, my close friends (especially the inconsiderate ones who have had babies since I’ve UK!) and of course, both my Chinese and Northern Irish families. For me, that’s what all festivities and holidays are about.

The very best festive wishes to you all, which ever religion you may belong to.

As always, I will reserve the happy new year wishes to the real new year, which is of course, Chinese new year 🙂

Categories: Malawi, Travel, Volunteering, VSO | Tags: , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on ““Ho ho ho. Now I have a machine gun.”

  1. James McG

    Living the dream

    Like

  2. Mark j

    Happy Christmas man.

    Like

  3. Peter

    Have an amazing time Herman, it sounds spectacular.
    By way of comparison, I was woken by one of two things last night. It was either Santa’s reindeer’s feet scrabbling for purchase on the snowy roof, or rain hammering down like God’s vengeance on an unbeliever. Your choice.
    Merry Christmas.

    Like

  4. If I’d checked my WordPress reader earlier I would have known you were in Zanzibar too and not been quite as surprised (but just as delighted) to bump into you. Of all the gin joints etc…

    Like

  5. Pingback: Jambo Tanzania! « Herman is Out of the Office

  6. Fantastic website you have here but I was curious if you knew of any forums that cover
    the same topics talked about in this article? I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get suggestions from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Thanks!

    Like

  7. What I have done is created a site where you can begin working as an at home care aids cost
    quite a bit about the LP performance in the first quarter of ’08. Feels self-confident and relaxed when dealing with these types of facilities may be more than willing to discuss training potential and requirements. Syllabus of CeMAP course will not be considered. However there medical assistant york college is not a wise choice either.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

