Poor Malawi

From my colleague Judy. The wealth gap in Malawi is really huge! No social benefits safety net here. You get what you earn. Even if it’s only a few kwachas from collecting discarded plastic bottles.

Malawi

I’ve been here for 9 months now and I’ve hit a low point.

I was suddenly overwhelmed by the abject poverty and the hard life some malawians have.

I stopped to buy a paper and 3 paper sellers came running up to me to try and sell me their paper. They cost 50p so I’m not sure how much they get per paper but they were all desperate to sell me one.

To top up your phone you have to buy little scratch off vouchers which range in price from 20p to £2 There are sellers everywhere and again they try and sell them hard waving them at you as you pass by. How much do they get for each sale? Probably about 5 or 10% of the price.

Women collecting wood and carrying huge 15foot bundles on their heads, barefoot – how much do they get for it? Don’t…

View original post 465 more words

Categories: Malawi | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

