WOTD: Njinga ya moto

Chichewa word of the day: Njinga ya moto

Meaning: Motorbike / motorcycle

Semantics: “Njinga” means bike, as in a bicycle or push bike. “Moto” means fire.

Since coming out to Malawi, I’ve been surprised by how little I miss material things from home (UK or Hong Kong). For example, my television. There is one exception… my motorbike.

I (used to) ride a Honda CBR 600 F-Sport, also known as the F4i. It was my pride and joy. It still is since I couldn’t bring myself to sell it. I even contemplated shipping it over but thought better of it over concerns on cost, safety on Malawi roads and it’s rather against the spirit of volunteering here!

Despite the storm which is currently uprooting trees all over Lilongwe. The rather shaky Internet in Malawi is actually quite fast today.

So, enjoy… the sights and sounds of my next bikes… someday! For now, I have to just cling on to my #46 Valentino Rossi t-shirt and Dainese jacket as if I’m still a rider!

You can see more speed things on my Pinterest board.

MV Agusta F4 Senna Edition

MV Agusta F4 Senna Edition

Categories: Malawi, Motorbikes, Volunteering, VSO | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

